Contact Us
Mamaroneck Daily Voice serves Larchmont & Mamaroneck
Return to your home site


Mamaroneck Daily Voice serves Larchmont & Mamaroneck
Breaking News: Westchester Man Charged With $150,000 Superstorm Sandy Scam

Rye Neck's Nathan, Gourchane Named All-Elite

CORTLANDT MANOR, N.Y. – Section 1 champions Lakeland (Class B) and Mamaroneck (Class A) each had six players honored at the annual Section 1 Field Hockey Elite Players and Golden Dozen Dinner at Colonial Terrace on Wednesday.

Awards were handed out to the girls selected all-elite, as well as all-elite honorable mention and all-state. The annual Golden Dozen were awarded for their combination of excellence in academics, community service and field hockey.

Rebecca Bard, Gianna Bensaia, Emma Bozek, Shannon Scavelli, Allie O’Mara and Krista Servedio were the six Lakeland players chosen to the all-elite group. Bensaia, Bozek and Scavelli were also named all-state. Lakeland will play in the state final four, beginning Saturday, at Cicero-North Syracuse.

The Mamaroneck six selected all-elite were Molly Cohen, Jessica Corbin, Scarlett Fugazy, Jessica Gardiner, Nina Kumar and Alicia Meglio. Gardiner, Cohen and Corbin were also accorded all-state honors. Mamaroneck earned a state final-four berth, beginning Saturday.

Bronxville, the Section 1 Class C champion and state semifinalist, had two all-elite selections in Brooke Bonfiglio, also an all-state choice, and Emily Kimak.

Rye, the Section 1 Class B runner-up, had four all-elite selections – Annie VanWagenen, Emma Brinkman, G.G. FitzGerald and Tori Virtue. Brinkman, VanWagenen and Fitzgerald were all-state picks and Virtue and VanWagenen were Golden Dozen selections.

Ossining, a Class A finalist, had Molly Malone earn all-elite and all-state honors.

The Conference I coach of the year went to North Salem’s Jen Frohman and Lakeland’s Sharon Sarsen. Mamaroneck’s John Savage was tabbed the Conference II coach of the year and the Conference III coach of the year was awarded to Rye Neck’s Niki Bolnik and Rye’s Emily Fitzgerald.

Bolnik, who played field hockey for Sarsen at Lakeland, led Rye Neck to 12 wins and its first sectional final since 1998.

Frohman and Fitzgerald both played on sectional-winning teams at Brewster. Conference I Rebecca Bard (Lakeland), Gianna Bensaia (Lakeland), Emma Bozek (Lakeland), Shannon Scavelli (Lakeland), Allie O’Mara (Lakeland), Krista Servedio (Lakeland), Kaitlin Bond (North Salem), Kim Gallo (Putnam Valley), Erin McCrudden (Putnam Valley), Dana Tatnell (Putnam Valley), Kayla Jones (Somers), Nicole Quigley (Yorktown), Stefanie Ranagan (Yorktown), Michaela Spannaus (Brewster), Rebecca Eisenstein (Carmel), Sara Rattigan (Carmel), Caseu Schuttrimpf (Carmel), Dayna Mercer (John Jay-Cross River), Jessica Ott (John Jay-Cross River), Jacquie Reiser (Mahopac), Nicole Tolli (Arlington), Erin Wood (Dover), Allie Elmes (John Jay-East Fishkill), Briana Esposito (Pawling), Jenna Derario (R.C. Ketcham), Casey Herzog (R.C. Ketcham).

Conference II

Molly Cohen (Mamaroneck), Jessica Corbin (Mamaroneck), Scarlett Fugazy (Mamaroneck), Jessica Gardiner (Mamaroneck), Nina Kumar (Mamaroneck), Alicia Meglio (Mamaroneck), Brooke Bonfiglio (Bronxville), Emily Kimak (Bronxville), Caroline Knapp (Scarsdale), Sidney Malsch (Scarsdale), Kristen Palese (Irvington).

Conference III

Emma Brinkman (Rye), G.G. FitzGerald (Rye), Annie VanWagenen (Rye), Tori Virtue (Rye), Jackie Colao (Fox Lane), Kaitlyn Gatto (Harrison), Michelle Logiudice (Harrison), Jillian Green (Horace Greeley), Kayla Barlow (Croton), Zoe Fendrich (Ossining), Molly Malone (Ossining), Amanda Nowak (Pleasantville), Yasmina Gourchane (Rye Neck), Athena Nathan (Rye Neck), Alexa Jimenez (Valhalla).

Conference IV

Nicole Cember (Clarkstown North), Sarah Sansone (Clarsktown South), Nikki Vormittag (Nanuet), Andie O’Sullivan (Nyack), Helen Shabinsky (Nyack), Sarah Adler (Suffern).

Honorable mention

Conference I

Samantha Raffaele (Arlington), Kaela Garrett (John Jay-East Fishkill), Sawyer Goerg (John Jay-East Fishkill), Jenna Lasaponara (John Jay-East Fishkill), Erin Grogan (R.C. Ketcham), Carly Kyte (R.C. Ketcham), Sara Knox (Carmel), Molly O’Reilly (John Jay-Cross River), Alyssa Corace (Mahopac), Olivia Barnard (North Salem), Tara Coogan (Somers), Kristen Conroy (Lakeland), Sayaka Abe (Putnam Valley), Lauren Landi (Putnam Valley), Kristina Rosselli (Walter Panas), Allison Simon (Walter Panas), Katie Frederick (Yorktown) Conference II

Rachel Brissette (Mamaroneck), Katie Colella (Scarsdale), Julia Mayer (Scarsdale), Olivia Freeman (White Plains), Yaquelin Iglesias (White Plains), Katie Knox (Bronxville), Stephanie Piko (Hastings), Ryan McMahon (Irvington), Caroline Fink (Pelham)

Conference III

Paige Beyer (Fox Lane), Lexi Cannon (Fox Lane), Ali Menniti (Harrison), Vaishali Kumaragura (Horace Greeley), Alex Bennett (Rye), Natalie Belvedere (Ossining), Nickole Morgan (Rye Neck)

Conference IV

Cristina DeVita (Nyack), Hannah Enquist (Nyack)


Conference I

Allie Elmes (John Jay-East Fishkill), Jenna DeRario (R.C. Ketcham), Sara Rattigan (Carmel), Dayna Mercer (John Jay-Cross River), Gianna Bensaia (Lakeland), Emma Bozek (Lakeland), Shannon Scavelli (Lakeland), Erin McCrudden (Putnam Valley)

Conference II

Molly Cohen (Mamaroneck), Jessica Corbin (Mamaroneck), Jessica Gardner (Mamaroneck), Brooke Bonfiglio (Bronxville)

Conference I

Michelle Loguidice (Harrison), Emma Brinkman (Rye), G.G. FitzGerald (Rye), Annie VanWagenen (Rye), Molly Malone (Ossining)

Conference IV

Helen Shabinsky (Nyack)

2011 Golden Dozen Awards

Annie VanWagenen (Rye), Dana Tatnell (Putnam Valley), Tori Virtue (Rye), Vaishali Kumaraguru (Horace Greeley), Nicole Cember (Clarkstown North), Brianna Redeposit (Ossining), Sarah Nelson (Pearl River), Meghan O'Toole (Bronxville), Michaela Spannaus (Brewster), Julia Mayer (Scarsdale), Jacqueline Colao (Fox Lane), Maya Pochiraju (Scarsdale)

Coach of the Year

Conference I : Jen Frohman (North Salem) and Sharon Sarsen (Lakeland) Conference II : John Savage (Mamaroneck) Conference III : Niki Bolnik (Rye Neck) and Emily Fitzgerald (Rye) Conference IV : Cheryl Eglin (Nyack)

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Mamaroneck Daily Voice!

Serves Larchmont & Mamaroneck

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.